If you’re on a strict gluten free diet and love chocolate, you might have asked this question: is Dairy Milk chocolate gluten free?
Yes, it is! But this post comes with a disclaimer…
All of this information is for individuals in North America - Canada and the US. Dairy milk chocolate bars are manufactured differently depending on where you live, so always check the product labelling for ingredients and gluten warnings before eating. (Dairy Milk is NOT gluten free in the UK.)
Can celiacs eat milk chocolate?
Individuals who have celiac disease can eat milk chocolate as long as it is gluten free. If there are no gluten-containing ingredients (such as wheat, barley or rye) or any warnings regarding gluten (such as ‘may contain wheat’), the product will be safe for people with celiac disease.
Is milk chocolate gluten free?
Milk chocolate is made of cocoa (nibs and butter), sugar, milk, and an emulsifier like lecithin. All of these ingredients are naturally gluten free.
If no additives or additional flavourings are added and the product is manufactured in a way that prevents cross-contamination, it is safe for celiacs, anyone with non-celiac gluten sensitivity, gluten intolerance or wheat allergy.
If the chocolate is manufactured or packaged on equipment also used for gluten products - there is a chance that gluten will be present. Always check the product labelling for gluten ingredients or warnings such as “may contain wheat” before eating it.
What is Cadbury Dairy Milk Chocolate made of?
Cadbury Dairy Milk chocolate bars are made from milk, sugar, cocoa butter, skim milk, whole milk powder, unsweetened chocolate, butter oil, soy lecithin and artificial flavour.
Product labelling for the US and Canada indicates that the chocolate may contain peanut, almond, cashew or hazelnut. There are no gluten warnings on the label.
So is dairy milk chocolate gluten free?
Hershey manufactures it for the US and Mondelēz does for Canada. Even though they do not have explicit gluten free labelling - both products are considered gluten free!
Is all Cadbury chocolate gluten free?
All Cadbury chocolate bars are gluten free in the US and Canada. Here are some of the products and flavours you can eat:
- Cadbury Dairy Milk Chocolate bar
- Cadbury Dairy Milk Roast Almond bar
- Cadbury Dairy Milk Rock the Road bar
- Cadbury Dairy Milk Fruit & Nut bar
- Cadbury Royal Dark Chocolate bar
- Cadbury Royal Dark Black Forest Cake bar
- Cadbury Caramello Chocolate bar
Here are a few other Cadbury products that are also gluten free in the US and Canada:
- Cadbury Mini Eggs
- Cadbury Creme Egg
- Cadbury Caramel Egg
- Cadbury Buttons
Chocolate bars that are gluten free
Thinking about nothing but chocolate? I love chocolate any time of day! If you’ve got a craving, here are a few other chocolate bars that are gluten free in the US and Canada.
A quick note: always be sure to check product labelling. Sometimes a brand, like Reese’s, will come out with a new product or size that should be gluten free because it’s the same as one already on the market, but isn’t because of the equipment it is manufactured and packaged on. Always check the ingredients and look for any warning labels.
- Almond Joy: all Almond Joy products, except Almond Joy pieces, are gluten free!
- Enjoy Life: all Enjoy Life products are both gluten and dairy free.
- Oh Henry: no gluten ingredients here, but always review the labelling.
- M&Ms: the peanut, peanut butter and milk chocolate versions are all gluten free. The pretzel and crispy M&Ms are NOT gluten free - stay away from those!
- Rolos: do not contain any gluten ingredients.
- Cadbury Crunchie: a favourite from my childhood! It’s not labelled gluten free, but does not contain gluten ingredients.
- Hershey’s Kisses: be sure to check specific flavours, but the milk chocolate versions are gluten free.
- Skor: these deliciously sticky toffee bars are also gluten free. (So are the Skor chips, in case you want a change from chocolate chips!)
- Snickers: believe it or not, Snickers bars are gluten free!
- Aero: a family favourite around here, the milk chocolate, peppermint and dark chocolate bars are all gluten free.
- Toblerone: no gluten ingredients.
- Tootsie Rolls: the manufacturer does not use any gluten ingredients in any of their products.
Recipes that use chocolate
Chocolate is a staple in our house and it often makes its way into my gluten free baking! Try as hard as I might, I can never stop snacking on a deliciously sweet chocolate treat.
Change them up by using different flavours of chocolate chips, or crush up a Dairy Milk bar and use that instead!