Is peanut butter gluten free?
Peanuts, and peanut butter, are naturally gluten free; however, cross contact can be an issue. Learn what to look for when purchasing peanut butter and other peanut products as not all brands are certified gluten free.
Ingredients in peanut butter
There are a variety of peanut butter products on the market and they are not all created equally.
- Natural peanut butters. These products are made with only one ingredient: dry roasted peanuts (and sometimes a bit of salt). No preservatives are added, so the oils will naturally separate from the peanut butter. This is completely normal and can be dealt with by mixing the nut butter before using.
- Creamy peanut butters, such as Kraft, Jif and Skippy. These brands contain more than just nuts. Often hydrogenated oils, sugars, preservatives and fats are added to these products. It changes the taste and stabilizes the peanut butters so the oils don’t separate.
- Flavored peanut butters: brands such as Fatso and Nuts ‘N More add additional ingredients into their products to create flavors like Birthday Cake Spread and Salted Caramel peanut butter. These extra flavorings may contain gluten, so be sure to always check the ingredient labels.
Is peanut butter gluten free?
Peanuts, peanut butter, peanut oils and peanut powder/flour are naturally gluten free; however, manufacturing and packaging of peanut products can introduce gluten from cross contact with equipment also used for gluten-containing items.
Most peanut butters are gluten free, so they are safe for anyone on a strict gluten free diet. Always check peanut butter labels for any allergen statements and gluten ingredients (especially if it isn’t a natural peanut butter).
Quite a few peanut butter brands label their products as gluten free; however, some do not. If the peanut butter doesn’t have a “may contain” statement or gluten ingredients - it’s likely safe for anyone on a gluten free diet.
Can someone on a gluten free diet eat peanut butter?
If you have celiac disease, gluten intolerance or are on a strict gluten free diet for other reasons, you’ll be happy to know that you can eat peanut butter!
Natural peanut butter contains only peanuts, which are naturally gluten free. Make sure to check for warning statements and additional gluten ingredients.
For the most part, a large number of peanut butter brands are gluten free and safe for anyone on a strict gluten free diet. (Which is good, because I can eat my weight in PB... I can’t get enough of it!)
Brands of peanut butter
Looking for a brand of peanut butter for your next PB&J sandwich or batch of gluten free peanut butter cookies? Here are some suggestions!
Peanut butter brands that are labelled or certified gluten free:
- Crazy Richard’s
- Krema Nut Company
- Santa Cruz Organic
- Smart Balance
Peanut butter brands that aren’t labelled gluten free, but are likely safe to eat. These products don’t have any gluten ingredients or warnings.
- Adams All Natural
- Aldi (Peanut Delight)
- Costco (Kirkland)
- Peter Pan
- Trader Joe’s
- WalMart (Great Value)
- Whole Foods
Purchasing a peanut butter labelled gluten free is completely optional, as most are safe for people on a gluten free diet. Some individuals like the peace of mind that gluten free labelling can offer, so make the choice that works best for you.
Peanut butter and cross contact at home
Peanut butter is naturally gluten free and a lot of brands are safe for people on a strict gluten free diet, but cross contact at home can still be an issue.
Imagine this: someone spreads a thick layer of peanut butter on their gluten bread with a knife and then puts that same knife back into the container of peanut butter... Whoops! That jar is now full of gluten crumbs and is not safe for anyone on a strict gluten free diet.
To avoid cross contact at home:
- Always scoop peanut butter out of the jar with a clean utensil
- Do not double dip with utensils used for gluten
- Purchase a designated gluten free jar of peanut butter that won’t be used for anything containing gluten
In our house, we have a single jar of peanut butter, but the non-celiac folks in our home know the first two rules: you always scoop out the PB you need and NEVER double dip. (It’s a general rule for everything in our fridge and works for us.)
I know some folks who have two jars of peanut butter - one used for gluten foods and the other designated as gluten free.
Choose whichever strategy makes you most comfortable and avoids cross contact.
How to use peanut butter
Best way to use peanut butter: just scoop it out with a spoon and eat it!
Seriously, though, there are lots of ways to use a jar of peanut butter. Here are a few:
- Make a batch of gluten free english muffins and slather them with a little peanut butter and jam. Best breakfast ever!
- Bake up some oat flour waffles and top with peanut butter and maple syrup. Another great breakfast!
- Use 1 cup of peanut butter to make a batch of moist and chewy gluten free peanut butter cookies. Then try to eat just one!
- Use peanut butter as a substitute in these almond butter chocolate chip cookies. (Although, let’s be honest, almond butter is pretty amazing, too.)
- Is peanut butter dairy free? Yes, the majority of peanut butters are dairy free. The exceptions would be flavored peanut butters that contain milk ingredients.
- Is almond butter gluten free? Yes, it is! Almonds are naturally gluten free. Always check product labelling for gluten ingredients and allergen warnings.
- Are salted peanuts and dry roasted peanuts gluten free? Peanuts are naturally gluten free, so salted and dry roasted peanuts will be, too! Often peanuts can be processed on equipment used for gluten products so always check for allergen warnings on the label.
- Is powdered peanut butter gluten free? Peanut products are naturally gluten free, so powdered peanut butter is too! As always, check for extra ingredients containing gluten and any allergen statements.