If you’ve been to a party or two, you might have noticed hummus next to the vegetable tray or served as part of a charcuterie board. It’s become incredibly popular, and rightfully so! Hummus is a deliciously healthy dip that’s made with simple ingredients. But is it gluten free?
What is hummus?
Hummus is a Middle Eastern dish that’s used as a dip or spread and is made with chickpeas, tahini, garlic, and lemon juice. Olive oil and spices, like cumin, can also be used to change up the texture and flavour profile.
It’s typically served with pita bread, crackers, or vegetables, but can also be used in sandwiches, as a salad dressing, or added into soups.
Are chickpeas gluten free?
Yes, chickpeas are naturally gluten free! They are filled with protein and fibre, making them a great addition to a gluten free diet.
Chickpeas typically come packaged in two formats: dried (bagged) and canned. Either one shouldn’t pose a gluten contamination risk, but if you have celiac disease or gluten sensitivity, always check the labelling on the products you want to buy. I have seen bags of dried chickpeas labelled with the dreaded “may contain wheat” statement due to how they are processed. If the chickpeas are packaged on a processing line that’s used to package gluten products, there is a risk of cross contamination.
Fun fact: chickpeas also go by the name garbanzo beans, so while you’re shopping - know that both names point to the same food.
Is tahini gluten free?
Tahini is a paste made from sesame seeds and it’s naturally gluten free! Sesame seeds are rich with vitamins and minerals and have a deliciously earthy taste. Tahini can be a tad bit bitter on its own, but when paired with chickpeas - it’s perfect!
As with most seeds and nuts, there’s always a risk of gluten cross contamination during packaging, so be sure to check the label of the particular brand you want to purchase.
Is hummus dairy free? Is hummus vegan?
Since hummus is made with mashed chickpeas, tahini (sesame seed paste), garlic, and lemon juice, it’s both dairy free and vegan.
Hummus can make a great substitute for butter and has a thick texture that makes eggless egg salad sandwiches come to life. Try this Vegan Egg Salad with Chickpeas recipe for a hummus-inspired flavour (it uses all of the ingredients that go into hummus, plus a few extras).
What to eat with hummus
Hummus is typically served with pita bread, which is not gluten free. If you’re on a strict gluten free diet, serve your hummus with these gluten free foods instead:
- Vegetables, as part of a veggie tray
- Gluten free crackers
- Tortilla chips
- Gluten free bread (as a sandwich, or served as a dip)
- Fruit (apples taste great with hummus!)
- Add it into soups, pasta sauces, and stews to thicken the texture and add more flavour
Store bought or homemade?
Since hummus doesn’t use a lot of ingredients, it’s incredibly simple to make at home, although let’s be honest, buying it at the grocery store sometimes just feels so much easier!
Either option is a good one, just be sure to check the labelling on your store bought hummus to make sure there are no warnings or gluten ingredients in it.
If you want to give homemade hummus a whirl - check out this recipe. It only take 7 ingredients and 5 minutes!